Course Validity Period
Courses registered to an organization (courses created in an organization or group, and courses imported from a course material repository registered to the organization) have a validity period. Public courses not registered to an organization have no validity period.
How the validity period is determined
- The start date and time is the date and time the course was created. You can specify the start date and time by writing
startsAt in the course.yaml of the course material repository (e.g., startsAt: '2027-04-01T00:00:00+09:00'). If you re-import without writing it, the start date and time does not change.
- The end date and time is 15 months after the course was created (for courses imported from a course material repository not registered to an organization, the date and time they were registered to the organization). If you need an extension, please contact us via Contact.
- Before the start date and time, the course does not appear in the
Course list for students, and the course page cannot be opened. Organization administrators, group administrators, and members of the course material repository can still check it before the start.
Those with instructor permissions can see the end date and time on the course page.
After the end
- The course becomes view-only. Neither students nor instructors can submit, answer questions, end exams, use the AI chat, use hints, register for contests, edit course materials or problems (including uploading files), set class times, perform manual grading, operate real-time surveys, or start live lectures; a message "The validity period has ended" is displayed. Past submissions and results can still be viewed.
- Even if the course material repository is imported, the ended course and its problems are not updated or deleted. Ended courses are displayed on the import confirmation screen and in the course material repository list. Files in the
assets folder are shared across all courses in the repository, so they are updated as usual. Do not change or delete files used by ended courses.
- Four years after the end date and time, all data for the course, including submissions, is deleted and cannot be restored. The scheduled deletion date is displayed on the course page to those with instructor permissions.
If you use the same materials every year, please create a course with a new course ID (the course folder name) for each year (Tips for creating course materials).